Skip navigation

Atul and Daddy

A watercolor painting from me this time.

Day 1: March 18

Atul and Dad

This is from my friend Preethi’s photograph… She had clicked a snap when her husband and her little son were reading a book… Dad and son ‘reading’ a book.. Atul is just 8 months old. I loved it so much that I thought I should probably try to paint the pic. If it comes out well, then.. well… the completed picture shall also be uploaded. Otherwise I will pull this one down too; and try such things only with pics of people we don’t know. I don’t want to hurt a friend!!

Update 1: March 19:

Atul and Dad - Day 2

Here is today’s updated painting. I am taking this one slow.. Partly because I can’t sit for a long time trying to paint. It is too exhausting. So today also, it is a Work-in-Progress!! This time instead of scanning the painting, I took a snap of it.

Update 2: March 20:

 

Photograph

Photograph

 

Scanned

Scanned

 

 Today again, I didn’t complete the painting. I added a lot of detail to it, which took me some time and concentration. By then it was evening and I didn’t really want to continue painting in artificial light. So tomorrow it would be!!

I have reached the most difficult portion of it all. The hair!!! There are so many shades in it! I am terrified of even starting to paint it!

I have uploaded both the photographed and scanned versions of the latest; since by the time I completed today’s work, it was evening, and I didnt have good light to take a photograph in.. Well, turns out that even in that light, a photograph looks better than a scan 🙂

Update 3: March 21: COMPLETE

Atul and Dad - Reading

Yippeee!! I have completed the painting finally! Not bad!! I would have had no guts to do this, had I not joined up the EDM group. And then, I just let myself indulge a bit – with the decision that I wouldn’t worry about what the end result shall be! I have a good feeling about this one now 🙂 🙂 (Go Me!!)

Thanks to the weekend in between, I couldn’t really uploaded the completed painting, though I finished it on Saturday!

Thanks to ALL of you who had been following up with my progress, and for encouraging me all through!

– Shalini

13 Comments

  1. Beautiful! Did you go to art classes or something?

  2. I have seen the actual photograph …. and the likeness is unbelievable!

  3. Wow, this is awesome! Is it w/c? I wondered if a scan or photo was better…Now I know.
    I can’t wait to see the finish.

  4. Fabulous. I will be patient for the end result – it will be worth it I know.
    And Preethi will be thrilled I’m sure.
    E
    xx

    • Smriti
    • Posted March 21, 2009 at 09:51
    • Permalink

    Hey Shalini,
    I have a question to ask… I didn’t use my poster colours for a long time and they’ve dried now. I dont think using water is a good idea… What do u suggest?

  5. Don’t worry about the hair! You’re so clearly talented that it will certainly fall into place. Trust yourself and keep having fun. It looks wonderful so far!

    • linisha
    • Posted March 22, 2009 at 12:23
    • Permalink

    Hi Smriti,

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂
    I am not very sure how poster colours would behave after they totally dry up.. If they havent dried up since very long (I would say more than an year – I have tried that), they would still behave fine if you add a bit of water to them and keep them aside for a few mins before starting to use them..
    But again, since I have been using tube watercolors, I am not very sure how poster paints would behave…
    (If you have pan paints – the paint box that we get in school, they would still behave excellent even after many years – again tried and tested 🙂 .. unless, if they are of a low grade quality 🙂 🙂 )

  6. I love your step by step coloring process. ^^ I’d love to do the same but I’m simply too lazy. The father and son brings a lot of emotion, that’s something I need to learn still.

    Thanks again for your comments on my drawing too. I am glad you like the sketch.

  7. You have done a beautiful painting!

    • rachelhoward
    • Posted March 24, 2009 at 09:28
    • Permalink

    Lovely picture, and you did a wonderful job on the hair!

    • linisha
    • Posted March 24, 2009 at 11:35
    • Permalink

    Thank you – all of you – for your lovely words..

    • Prema
    • Posted March 26, 2009 at 20:29
    • Permalink

    Oh, this is just beautiful! loooved it!

  8. Love the step-by-step images. It’s always great when we can learn from each other!

    I’d like to pass on the Passion For Painting award to you. Your mission – should you choose to accept it – is to name seven things you love in your blog, then pass the award on to seven more artists. List their links in a blog post and notify them of their award in their comments.

    Les


Leave a Reply

